Why I Stopped Playing CLOK

Elystole

Why I Stopped Playing CLOK

Post by Elystole »

The first time I stopped playing CLOK I was in a bad spot in my life and suffering from burnout so I didn't say anything. This time my life is fantastic, but I just stopped logging into CLOK and never felt the urge to log back in. I've advised other people to voice their concerns as otherwise nothing changes, so to avoid hypocrisy here are my thoughts.

The short version is that I stopped playing CLOK because it isn't fun. I'm a busy guy and I value my leisure time, but CLOK simply hasn't been delivering. Instead it feels like work. CLOK was fun when I started playing two years ago, but there have been several changes that have eroded the fun. I don't think I am alone in this considering the state of the population.

That alone isn't helpful, so please allow me to elaborate:

Grinding is a problem common to almost all skill-based games where improvement is based on individual rolls instead of tasks completed like with experience-based games, but CLOK has the worst grind that I have ever seen. You don't gain skills effectively from just playing, so you have people trying to figure out how to milk the system to maximize their gains. I see that as a fundamental design flaw where instead of being able to play the game people have to work the game to get the skills they need to later play. If gains flowed more naturally, people would have less incentive to grind. Unfortunately, rather than accept the fact that the game is grindy and take steps to make it less grindy, it seems staff has instead taken the approach that people who are grinding are playing the game "wrong" so they decided to make grinding harder.

I'm sure we've all encountered places where people who are trying to get from point A to point B decide to cut across a field instead of using a sidewalk that takes a longer, circuitous route. There are three responses to this problem: