Intro and tons of Newbie Questions!

Breezy

Intro and tons of Newbie Questions!

Post by Breezy »

Hello! I'm Breezy and I'm a newbie. I *love* this game! I am really into RP games and especially those with crafting. So far,I'm having a ball with this game and I'm very upset that I didn't find out about this earlier! My favorite thing is the wilderness and that I could actually play a non-combat character that actually advances and make money.

Now, some questions.

1) I found that I actually do like combat in this game, usually I don't mainly because of the scroll. Here I can actually read what's going on. I plan on playing guild-less for a while. I like fighting in groups, flanking enemies seems like fun! So for combat for me would be the following, right?

-Type battle... (start fighting)
-type flank... (when in a group. How do I know when the baddie has its attention on someone else?)
-Rinse and Repeat!

2) Is it OK to practice more than one weapon. I like the idea of fighting with daggers. What about whips?

3)Sleeping bags (Camprolls?) I can't remember which they are called. But, are you able to set up semi-permanent camp in the wilderness? If so, that would be AWESOME!

4) Are travel rations the best food for traveling? I've been fishing like a mad-woman and found that fish isn't as filling as I thought. I got a baked potato that was great. But it was a sit down food.

5) Can some explain skill gain and the newbie bonus. So, we get 35 skillups with the bonus. I studied 3 skills and got ~12 points in each. The training bonus said something about 2.5 skill gain. I'm not sure what any of this means and how much of a newbie bonus I have left.

6) Housing? Are the prices I see a one time thing or the rent? Also the Inn rooms I found charge by the day. How long is a day in game/out of game?

7)Housing, part 2. I saw that some guilds offer private chambers or dorms of some sort. How does that work? Is there some sort of rent involved?