Mining Overhaul?

Drayla

Mining Overhaul?

Post by Drayla »

To my understanding, I started playing regularly again near the end of the summer, and player mines had just become impossible to purchase anymore. I also understand that the reasoning for this was that there is a major overhaul coming to mining that is going to change it up quite a bit. The last I had heard of this, it sounded as though this overhaul was in the final stages and nearly complete, and the only reason the process of switching them out wasn't begun then was because it would completely break mining for a while.
So here is my question: what is the status of this update? I haven't heard anything new about it in over a month. Is it nearly upon us? Has it been set on the back burner for a while? I was looking forward to the update and seeing what it brings and what it changes. I'd just like a bit of intel on what its status is and when we can expect the switch to occur. Please?
Rias
Lore Hermit

Re: Mining Overhaul?

Post by Rias »

The following are things that I want and hope for in the new mining system but are no way set in stone:

- Mines having resources appropriate to their area intead of just having a completely random constantly-shifting mish-mash of minerals.
- Players not being limited to a single mine for their entire life. However, I do hope mines end up being too difficult to maintain multiples of - I don't want people having like ten mines at once. But you could for instance start a mine somewhere, and if you don't like what minerals you've found available there, pack up and go start a mine elsewhere.
- Starting a new mine should be a considerable effort, so you shouldn't be able to try mining every single spot in the Lost Lands in the space of a month and find out where "the best stuff" is.