Possibly Dumb Combat Question

Mafuane

Possibly Dumb Combat Question

Post by Mafuane »

Newbie here, loving Clok so far but had a bit of a question I might have answered myself;
I assume being an Elemancer/Ranged Archery combination is not plausible unless in a group?
My brief attempts in archery shows I'll be engaged in combat by myself, so relying on ranged alone and adding more range spells isn't a good idea? Unless in a group where I would not be the main baddies target.

Still very new and would like to join the University of Elemancers, just trying to think of how to survive efficiently when I pick this route.
Apologies if this is supposed to be an IC question.
Thank you for your help and understanding.
Noctere
Coder

Re: Possibly Dumb Combat Question

Post by Noctere »

Welcome to CLOK, always glad to see a new face around. As to your questions, let me think.
I assume being an Elemancer/Ranged Archery combination is not plausible unless in a group?
Answer: It is a plausible combo but not a great mix from a game or a lore perspective. Game wise, you don't really need more ranged attack methods, one or the other will do. Lore wise, the Elemancers aren't that much into physical combat. They are mostly into their studies and as a result of those studies they will gain some very useful combat prowess but that is not their true goal. This method of attack would not be discouraged per se but it is not encouraged either. So if an elemancer wanted to use a sword for example. It will not be considered a very elemancer thing to do but you would not penalized for it either. Although, another who studies elemancy might make fun of you for it or make comments in regards to it.
My brief attempts in archery shows I'll be engaged in combat by myself, so relying on ranged alone and adding more range spells isn't a good idea? Unless in a group where I would not be the main baddies target.